I am the Alpha and the Omega

“And he said to me: It is done. I am Alpha and Omega; the beginning and the end. To him that thirsteth, I will give of the fountain of the water of life, freely.” Reflection. ” I am the Alpha and the Omega; the beginning and the end.” What do these words from John mean? My take, or at least my reflection. Picture the corner of a room, how the lines meet in one central point, how they begin, and end at each corner. Christ our God is the beginning and the end. He was there at the beginning of our Earthly lives, and He is there at the end. He is there in our new beginning in Heaven. He is there throughout it all. God gave us free will to make the decision to follow Him, to worship Him, to Love as he loves. All human beings can connect through him, because he is always there, but the choice is ours. He is ever present. He will never leave us, it is never too late. I pray often for the lost souls and for those that are alive now that are still searching. Everyone has the opportunity to find and feel Christ’s love in our lives, and I often wonder, “Why do some not take that opportunity?” Through struggles, through pain, through suffering we all to often revert to our selfish ways, we all reflect and feel pity for ourselves, when all to often, we should be looking to God. The focal point in a room, where the wall meets the ceiling in every corner, this is Christ, this is our focus. Our lives have begun, but all too often we lose focus on the end, and our new beginning. Christ suffered so that we may live through Him. Those that He loved unconditionally, tortured, persecuted, and put to death the One that loved them most, yet through this He still loves us. He is the beginning, He is the end. Focus on his Love, focus on His suffering; know that we must suffer to be closer to Him. All too often were are caught up in our own selfishness, our own needs. Oh, if we could only be like Him, and all like Him, so that we may realize what is most important in this life. Love.

 “Lord, let everything I do this day, be inspired by you. I long to be closer to You. Help me to remember that nothing is important in my life unless it glorifies You in some way. It’s so easy to get caught up in the day to day of my life and keep saying, “Tomorrow, I will spend more time in prayer,” but now my longing meets your love and I want to do it now. Help me to rely on You for help. Heal me, Lord, and help me to find You in the darkness of my life. Let me reach out in times of sadness and feel Your hand and love there to guide me. Holy Spirit, guide me that I may truly turn away from sin and remain faithful to the Gospel.” Amen.

 “In darkness, at times of tribulation and distress of the spirit, Jesus is with you. In such a state you see nothing but darkness, but I can assure you on God’s behalf that the light of the Lord is all around you and pervades your spirit. . .You see yourself forsaken and I assure you that Jesus is holding you tighter than ever to His divine Heart.” -Saint Padre Pio

Leave a Reply

