Patience through Prayer

Prayer takes many forms, but to me, as I now come to understand, is more important than water, more important than breath.  The Holy Father has understood its importance and has hence dedicated his life to it.  The transfiguration story details its importance in every day life.  I have come to understand through prayer, that patience is in direct relation to being selfish.  I pray now that I learn to have patience in my Lord and to understand that his hand will guide me.  The more I become stronger in my faith, the more evil attacks me, disrupts me, tries to make me shy away from our God, from His message, from His Divine Heart.  Oh how I wish to be closer to Him, to make this evil go away.  As Padre Pio stated, “Our Lord sometimes makes you feel the weight of the cross. This weight seems unbearable but you carry it because in His love and mercy, the Lord helps you and gives you strength.”.  The Lord will not give me something that I cannot handle, but my patience gets in the way.  I must always want, I must always try to push.  I must always want the immediate answer now.  But through prayer I realize that I must utilize patience, to my advantage, and not to my demise.  The evil one attacks, even from within the most closest relationships, even in your times when you should feel most safe.  I must ask for the Lord’s forgiveness, for my patience is not strong, and my pain is something that I realize I can manage, if I just trust in him completely.   My dear readers, trust in God, have patience in His Divine Will, we all can do it with prayer.  Pray often, pray completely, pray earnestly, pray with devotion, but most of all pray with Love.

Leave a Reply

