I WILL- "Go Out" and Proclaim the Gospel



“We need to “go out,” then, in order to experience our own anointing, its power and its redemptive efficacy: to the “outskirts” where there is suffering, bloodshed, blindness that longs for sight, and prisoners in thrall to many evil masters. It is not in soul-searching or constant introspection that we encounter the Lord: self-help courses can be useful in life, but to live by going from one course to another, from one method to another, leads us to become pelagians and to minimize the power of grace, which comes alive and flourishes to the extent that we, in faith, go out and give ourselves and the Gospel to others, giving what little ointment we have to those who have nothing, nothing at all.”- Pope Francis

Reflection.  How many of us are afraid to “go out” of our comfort zone, to face tribulations and evil head on?  How many of us go out and proclaim the Gospel as is said at the ending of each Mass.  How often do we want to face the fact that we say we will, but we don’t.  I myself will tell you that I fail often.  I have the want, and the need, but do not follow through like I should.  Why should the above quote from the Holy Father be just a priestly task, indeed, we all can learn from this request, and “go out” and proclaim the Gospel.  As my hour comes near this Easter Vigil when I will partake of Our Lord’s most precious Body and Blood, and confirm and renew my dedication to him, taken on the very name of my patron Saint Pio, I will also make the commitment to “go out” of my comfort zone, here locally and serve the poor, the sick, the prisoners, and the dying.  Instead of saying I will, and saying I want to do more for the Church, I will make the commitment in which to do so.  To live and have Christ in the center of our lives, we must have no fear, we must confront evil and suffering head on, knowing that not only Christ did this for us, but that he willed us to do it for others.  Never forget Christ’s love, and never forget that there is NOTHING that we cannot do with Him at the center of our lives.  God Bless! ~CJA

Leave a Reply

