Reflection. A Catholic’s Take- The Importance of Holy Eucharist


Gospel, John 6:52-5952 Then the Jews started arguing among themselves, ‘How can this man give us his flesh to eat?’
53 Jesus replied to them: In all truth I tell you, if you do not eat the flesh of the Son of manand drink his blood, you have no life in you.
54 Anyone who does eat my flesh and drink my blood has eternal life, and I shall raise thatperson up on the last day.
55 For my flesh is real food and my blood is real drink.
56 Whoever eats my flesh and drinks my blood lives in me and I live in that person.
57 As the living Father sent me and I draw life from the Father, so whoever eats me will also draw life from me.
58 This is the bread which has come down from heaven; it is not like the bread our ancestors ate: they are dead, but anyone who eats this bread will live for ever.
59 This is what he taught at Capernaum in the synagogue.


Reflection.  The Holy Eucharist, from a Catholics take, is the most important sacrament that the Lord gave us.  As Catholics, we believe that during the Holy Sacrifice at mass, during the Communion, the bread and wine on the altar become the flesh and blood of our Lord, Jesus Christ.  Why is this important?  For us to believe in the supernatural, in the transformation of a simple wafer and wine at mass, into the precious blood and body of Christ is the entire purpose of our mass.  For us to partake in His sacrifice, in His body, and in His blood, joins us with Him, in communion, and fills our body with the Holy Spirit. In being united to the humanity of Christ we are at the same time united to his divinity. Our mortal and corruptible natures are transformed by being joined to the source of life. “Just as the living Father sent me and I have life because of the Father, so also the one who feeds on me will have life because of me” (Jn 6:57).  Many non-Catholics accuse the Church of idolatry, in that we worship statues, icons, etc, when in fact we do not.  These are reminders of the Saints before us, and in previous posts I discussed the importance of intercession (see http://www.catholicpio.com/2013/03/the-importance-of-mary-former.html).  But we do indeed, worship the Eucharist, because the Eucharist IS God.  We do this through Eucharistic adoration, and through the partaking of His most precious body and blood during Mass.  The Eucharist enables us to become one with God, for He is truly present within the Church, but most importantly within the Holy Eucharist.   To be a part of this, and understand how this happens is hard to explain even within the Church, but the Eucharist exemplifies the Lord’s divinity and His presence, for it is written.  For me, to question the transformation of the bread and wine into His most precious body and blood, is to question His divinity, and his ability to perform what some may call supernatural feats.  This is why the Catholic Church asks that non Catholics do not partake of the Eucharist, because they do not fully understand its importance, nor accept the doctrine involved in the transformation into His most precious body and blood. This Eucharist, this sacrifice is the most important thing to me, and for me to adjoin myself through the power of the Holy Spirit, with our most blessed Savior.   God Bless~ CJA

“The Eucharist gives an idea of the union we will have in heaven.” -Saint Padre Pio
Leave a Reply

