Daily Reflections of Saint Padre Pio: On the Devil



On the Devil
“The number of devils active in the world is greater than all the people who have
been alive since Adam.”
“If all the devils would take bodily form they would blot out the light of the sun.”
“I don’t have a minute of free time; it is all spent releasing my brothers from the grip
of satan.”
“If the Devil is making uproar, it is an excellent sign: what is terrifying is his peace
and concord with a man’s soul.”
“What comes from Satan begins with calmness and ends in storm, indifference and
apathy.”
“Do not let the infernal beast frighten you. God will fight it with you and for you.”
“The devil is like a rabid dog tied to a chain; beyond the length of the chain he
cannot seize anyone.
And you: keep at a distance. If you approach too near, you let yourself be caught.”
“The human soul is the battlefield between God and Satan.”
Dr. Sanguinetti was in the backyard with few other men. Padre Pio suddenly asked:
“What is the name of the devil?” Several names came up. Padre Pio: “No, no, no.
When we say: I, I do, I can, I succeed, I, I, I, this is the devil.”

Leave a Reply

