Reflection. Consecrate yourselves in His truth


Gospel, John 17:11-1911 

I am no longer in the world, but they are in the world, and I am coming to you. Holy Father, keep those you have given me true to your name, so that they may be one like us.12 While I was with them, I kept those you had given me true to your name. I have watched over them and not one is lost except one who was destined to be lost, and this was to fulfil the scriptures.13 But now I am coming to you and I say these things in the world to share my joy with them to the full.14 I passed your word on to them, and the world hated them, because they belong to the world no more than I belong to the world.15 I am not asking you to remove them from the world, but to protect them from the Evil One.16 They do not belong to the world any more than I belong to the world.17 Consecrate them in the truth; your word is truth.18 As you sent me into the world, I have sent them into the world,19 and for their sake I consecrate myself so that they too may be consecrated in truth.


Reflection.  Today’s Gospel reading follows on from yesterday’s reading on love, but re-assures us that Christ consecrate Himself so that all may may consecrated with Him, that is the truth.  He also teaches us that we as humans are easily persuaded by evil, and that the Earth is truly the Evil One’s domain.  He warns us of this in this passage, that the Evil One will try and part us from the truth, and that we must keep His word in which to defeat it.  We must continue to be examples of His word, and spread His joy throughout the world, so that when we part our earthly lives, we will be close to the Father.  Remember to keep Him close in prayer, ask for His protection, and always keep His word.  Do not be persuaded by Earthly desires and temptation, power, and gluttony.  Keep in mind the scriptures, and prayer to our Lord, so that we may seek a place in His eternal kingdom.   Love one another, as much, if not more than yourselves, and keep our children from the materialism of our society, so that they make the world a better place, ultimately denying evil its hold on our Earthly lives.  Do not be afraid, for if you keep His word, and show forth His love through your actions, knowing that by His teaching, he sent us out into the world, so that all my truly live as He intended.  God Bless! ~CJA
Leave a Reply

