Reflection. A Warning against Idleness



2 Thessalonians 3
Request for Prayer
As for other matters, brothers and sisters, pray for us that the message of the Lord may spread rapidly and be honored, just as it was with you. And pray that we may be delivered from wicked and evil people, for not everyone has faith. But the Lord is faithful, and he will strengthen you and protect you from the evil one. We have confidence in the Lord that you are doing and will continue to do the things we command. May the Lord direct your hearts into God’s love and Christ’s perseverance.
Warning Against Idleness
In the name of the Lord Jesus Christ, we command you, brothers and sisters, to keep away from every believer who is idle and disruptive and does not live according to the teaching[a]you received from us. For you yourselves know how you ought to follow our example. We were not idle when we were with you, nor did we eat anyone’s food without paying for it. On the contrary, we worked night and day, laboring and toiling so that we would not be a burden to any of you. We did this, not because we do not have the right to such help, but in order to offer ourselves as a model for you to imitate. 10 For even when we were with you, we gave you this rule: “The one who is unwilling to work shall not eat.”11 We hear that some among you are idle and disruptive. They are not busy; they are busybodies. 12 Such people we command and urge in the Lord Jesus Christ to settle down and earn the food they eat. 13 And as for you, brothers and sisters, never tire of doing what is good.
14 Take special note of anyone who does not obey our instruction in this letter. Do not associate with them, in order that they may feel ashamed. 15 Yet do not regard them as an enemy, but warn them as you would a fellow believer.

Reflection.  This happened to be my daily reading today, and I think it is an important one.  Recently, due to worldly affairs, I have seen and felt myself getting very lax in my spiritual health. I did not attend Mass last week due to sickness, and have been getting caught up in every-day life, which is very easy to do.  Paul in his letter, warns of this very thing, and I think it is very important to share.  Never cease to take time out of your day for the Lord.  Avoid the temptations and idleness of life.   Never cease to take time to pray, read, reflect, and give thanks.  Never cease to ask for forgiveness, and never cease to strive to forgive those that may have done ill against you.   I find that when I do not do these things, it is very easy to slip into idleness, very easy to get caught up in worldly affairs.  But here is the most important thing I have learned.  As I started this blog, as I started reading scripture every day, as I started praying every day, as I started reflecting every day, I actually felt His presence.   I actually felt the Holy Spirit guide me through my day.  In the past week, I have been struggling, struggling for that feeling-  I have actually felt the vacancy within me.  I prayed this morning for guidance, for strength, and came across this passage, which just happened to be the passage on my bible application on my phone.  And hear we are!  God truly works in amazing ways and we must never forget this.  

Paul in this passage, I would like to believe wasn’t actually talking of the physical sense of the word for food or eating.  He was talking about our spiritual food, or everlasting redemption in God’s word, and the nourishment that we receive from it.  He was warning us of the idleness of worldly desire, temptation, and evil.  He was warning us, of those that will try to lead us in the wrong direction.  We must never forget that in order to grow in spirit, we must grow in faith!  We must understand that the Lord never gives up on us, never leaves us, it is us that strays from Him.  He is the one that can protect us from evil, and give us the blessing of His Holy Spirit-  all we have to do is ask.   There is wonderful, inspirational guidance in this passage, truly guided by the Holy Spirit, and we must take heed to understand, comprehend what he was saying and learn from it.  I know I have, and I am the better for it.  I hope everyone has a wonderful weekend!  God Bless~ CJA
One response to “Reflection. A Warning against Idleness

  1. Thank you. I am passionate about my faith. Years ago I allowed it to go out because of the very things you are talking about. The past year has seen the Lord rekindle in me a burning flame of faith. Yet now I am being told that it is too much, my expectations for myself are making others feel uncomfortable. God is obviously working in my life the more I surrender to Him. Praise God!

Leave a Reply

